Kentucky Chapter

Founded in 1975, the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) is the unified voice of over 11 million women-owned businesses in America, representing the fastest growing segment of the economy. NAWBO is the only dues-based organization representing the interests of all women entrepreneurs across all industries with local chapters across the US. See more of the historical timeline of the national organization here.

Today, NAWBO Kentucky is a thriving organization with a vision for statewide growth. Click here to see our yearly plan.


Our mission is to help connect women to the resources, people, information, and organizations that can help them achieve their personal, business, or political goals.


By combining the knowledge, networks, and expertise of our diverse membership, our board of directors, and our staff, NAWBO Kentucky works to:

  • Strengthen the wealth-creating capacity of our members and promote economic development.
  • Create innovative and effective changes in the business culture.
  • Build strategic alliances, coalitions, and affiliations.
  • Transform public policy and influence opinion makers.


NAWBO Kentucky has always been led by a group of strong and independent businesswomen. We are proud to showcase our current leadership, as well as all women who came before them in the Kentucky chapters. If you are interested in learning more about NAWBO Kentucky committees, reach out to us today. You can also contact us if you are interested in serving on our board! Please send your resume, bio, company information, website, what position you would be interested in, and all other inquiries to [email protected].
Kathy Sanders
Jennifer Schnurr
Carrie Downey
Clarity Co.
DEIB chair
Demetria Miles-McDonald
Lexington Market Engagement
Jennifer Longworth
Louisville Market Engagement
Membership Chair
April Petrey
Advocacy Chair
Dee Dee Taylor
502 Hemp
Programs Chair

Vanessa Shannon
Optimize Consulting

Communications Chair
Open Position
Currently Open
Corporate partner chair
Open Position
Currently Open
Board Advisor
Margaret Jolly
Henrietta Pepper

GCJ Consultants 

Past Presidents

Immediate Past President
Vanessa Pennoyer

Go 2 Girl LLC

Term in OfficeName
2023-2024Vanessa Pennoyer: Go 2 Girl LLC
2020-2023Basha Roberts: Lextech, Inc.
2020-2021Sarah Waskey: Strothman + Co
2018-2020Robin Miller: Nest Community Marketing
2016-2018Jesika Young : Cimtech Inc.
2014-2016Denise Jerome: Michaelis Events
2012-2014Lawren Just: Persimmon Ridge
2010-2012Lesa Seibert: Mightily
2008-2010Maggie Payette-Harlow: Sign-A-Rama Downtown
2006-2008 Tricia Burke : Office Environment Company
2005-2006 Gayle Graham : W.T. Shumake & Daughters
2004-2005 Patsy Bargo : Bargo & Associates
2003-2004 Sharon Scheer : Sharon M. Scheer, CPA
2002-2003 Katherine Autin : The Jewelry Search, Inc.
2001-2002 Gwen Parrott : Parrot & Associates, PSC
2000-2001 Cindee Coffee : Stites & Harbison Law Firm
1999-2000 Pam Rankin : PBR Financial Strategies
1998-1999 Cathy Zion : Today’s Woman
1997-1998 Kay Meurer : Discount Office Interiors
1996-1997 Mary Morrow : ProBusiness Source
1995-1996 Winter Reneaux Collins : Burbank & Collins Law Firm
1994-1995 Joan Frentz : JWF Concepts, Inc.
1993-1994 Rita Bodart : Airlanes Travel
1992-1993 Betty Griffin (Charter President) : Betty Griffin Public Relations, Inc.

1992-1994 Carrie Smith – Lexington Chapter
1994-1995 Patty Breeze – Lexington Chapter
1995-1996 Basha Roberts – Lexington Chapter
1996-1997 Jeanne Tighe – Lexington Chapter
1997-1998 Kim Monthie – Lexington Chapter
1998-1999 Pat Bowles – Lexington Chapter
1999-2000   Anita Britton – Lexington Chapter
2000-2001 Sheila Bayes – Lexington Chapter
2001-2002 Cathy Chatfield – Lexington Chapter
2002-2003 Eileen O’Brien – Lexington Chapter
2003-2004 Janie Head – Lexington Chapter
2004-2005 Sharon Cox – Lexington Chapter
2005-2006 Lisa Hendricks – Lexington Chapter
2006-2007  Pam Larson – Lexington Chapter
2007-2008 Diana Hughes – Lexington Chapter
2008-2009 Beverly Clemons – Lexington Chapter
2009-2010 Janey Moores – Lexington Chapter
2010-2011 Cathy Stafford – Lexington Chapter
2011-2012 Julie McEwen – Lexington Chapter
Amy Johnson – Lexington Chapter
2013-2014 Rhonda Bartlett – Lexington Chapter
2014-2015 Donna Smith – Lexington Chapter

Our History

NAWBO Kentucky was formed in 2015 from the combination of two Kentucky NAWBO chapters based in Louisville and Lexington. NAWBO Kentucky is committed to representing a diverse rural and urban group of women business owners. Currently, NAWBO Kentucky is supporting the following markets: Lexington, Louisville, Southern Indiana, Northern Kentucky, and Southern Cincinnati. Several other markets are planned for 2024. Members are welcome from everywhere within the state.

The original NAWBO Kentucky chapters were formed in 1992. These two chapters, named NAWBO Louisville and NAWBO Lexington, represented urban women business owners for years. Both chapters grew to hundreds of members and were committed to nurturing the success of women business owners.  The chapters partnered to support the small business caucus, created in Frankfort KY to monitor, and support legislative issues impacting women business owners. Several chapter members were Kentucky representatives to the White House Conference on Small Business in 1995.

The following Kentucky NAWBO members have served on the National NAWBO board as representatives of the local Kentucky chapters of Lexington and Louisville:

  • Evelyn Strange – (Served as the NAWBO National President from 2011-2012)
  • Patty Breeze
  • Lisa Seibert
  • Basha Roberts

We are Stronger Together

The organization is comprised of a diverse range of business types including accounting firms, advertising firms, financial services, catering companies, retail stores, printing services, contractors, manufacturers, and others. NAWBO Kentucky serves business establishments in categories from small, home-based businesses, to multi-million-dollar companies.

NAWBO Kentucky serves Kentucky, the Southern Indiana and Cincinnati, Ohio areas.

Stay in the know! Sign up to receive our Communications

    Website Maintained By SavvyChic Design, LLC

    © 2024 NAWBO Kentucky Chapter All Rights Reserved